Wheaterville

Dog walking really is a full time job.

Two weeks today and 32km. October 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — wheaters @ 11:11 am

Hi gang,

We leave two weeks tonight!! OMG. Wow, this feels like it’s kind of crept up on me. Must remember to fill out an annual leave form at work…

The other big news is that we did our longest run yesterday – 32km. We did it Galloway stylee (9 min run, 1 min walk), and I think we’ve decided this is the only way we’re going to be able to run the marathon. I still don’t feel in my heart of hearts that it really counts as running a marathon, but it’s going to have to be (this time). I actually felt great on the run – comfortable, strong, no moments of self loathing until around 31km. So yay! I feel much better about the run now. If I have a day like that on Nov 1, I’ll love it.

My left ITB got super tight though and was causing pain in the knee, so I trotted off to the physio today for some excruciating massage and a bit of acupuncture. While waiting for JP, I read an old Runner’s World mag which had a story of the Ultra Marathon Man (Dean someoneorother). The guy who ran 50 marathons in 50 days. yep. He can run 100km in a day. He’s so tough, and not built like a traditional runner either which is interesting. But it did serve to make me feel lame about doing Galloway. I mean, the guy does a training run by starting at the finish of a marathon, running back to the start to coincide with everyone else heading off, and runs back to the finish again. Cripes. But whatever, I reckon I’d die if I tried to run the whole thing at this point.

So now we head into taper. Long run this week is 19km, with some other little runs thrown in, yoga, a swim, with some massage, stretching and voltaren for the ITB.

Also I’ve actually done really well on cutting back on the wine (thanks support crew!). All up last week I don’t even think I would’ve cracked 1/2 bottle in total (okay maybe half, but only just). Who am I?

I’m super pumped for New York now.

xx

ps check this out…Lisa, this deserves our acknowledgment and celebration…World Porridge Day!

Picture 1

 

One Response to “Two weeks today and 32km.”

  1. Lisa O Says:

    Aaaah world porridge day! If only i’d read your blog earlier we should totally have clinked bowls to that! Porridge would be perfect for your carb loading – Sean eats it before racing even! Urgh I couldn’t stomach it, love my honey toast! But any other time GOOOO Porridge! xoxoo


Leave a Reply

