Wheaterville

Dog walking really is a full time job.

Happy 30th! July 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — wheaters @ 1:57 pm

So we’ve finally hit our 30s. Also it’s totally not warm here, but I had to take off my long cardi for the photo. It’s actually pretty cold and grey. Ped and I are holed up in the study waiting for Bunny’s cot and change table to arrive, which is sometime between 11am and 4pm. Boring. But ace that it’s on its way! I can’t wait to set up her room properly.

So what’s 30 weeks all about? Well, we’re at the start of the 31st week, and Bunny should weigh around 1.5kg. Apparently her brain is increasing in size and complexity and her pupils can react to light. Changes for me are meant to include swelling (so far haven’t really noticed any which is great), in addition to all the other things we’ve accumulated along the way (back pain, anyone?).

Last week I signed up to a weekly pick-up of organic (or no chemicals used) fruit and veg, which comes direct from farmers in NSW. This Monday was the first box and I picked it up after work. You don’t know what you’re getting but it’s always seasonal. I’ve signed up just for a small one for a month to see how we go. At $35 I think it’s pretty reasonable.

So there were some great heirloom tomatoes, mandarins, oranges, bananas, pumpkin, beetroot, chinese broccoli, spuds, garlic and a beautiful leek. I used the leek that night with a simple chicken and rice dish, and have been tucking into the fruit. Last night I used the bunch of chinese greens with some bbq pork I bought at the weekend markets – so quick and easy and so yummy. We’re out on date night tonight (Four in Hand dining room) so I won’t use any veg tonight, but I’m going to do my best to use things up as much as I can. It was so fun looking at the box and working out what to make, it was a bit like having an invention test (okay which clearly I would’ve failed cos I only used one thing, but you know what I mean).

Also the new edition of Cuisine arrived! OMG it’s great. There is SO much I want to cook. Of course it sort of goes against the whole ‘use what you have’ theory that I’m employing in the veg delivery, but I’ll find a way to make it all work. Plus Cuisine is bimonthly so we have loads of time to cook from it. Muz and I have both never made pastry (I know) so we thought we’d do that together and make some sort of yummy dessert tart some time. Fun!

This pic is totally self-indulgent. I had been on the phone to Muz in Shanghai complaining that Ped was unruly without a man in the house, and he came and sat next to me looking like he was the sweetest, most innocent thing ever. So I took a photo and sent it to Muz, and thought it was so cute I had to share it. Speaking of the boy, he turns 3 on the 17th of this month. They grow up so fast.

 

Leave a Reply

