Wheaterville

Dog walking really is a full time job.

Long run update… July 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — wheaters @ 11:40 pm

So technically I’m only supposed to be doing 3km runs this week, according to the physio. Except that we all know that 3km runs don’t equal 14km races, so I figure I need to do a bit more than that, and then hopefully if I can get away with that for another five weeks, I can then be good and go back to shorter run and looking after my pelvic floor. Let’s hope it works anyway.

So Marsh and I swapped our Sunday morning spin class for a long run. We met at Marsha’s in Surry Hills, then ran down Crown St, down Oxford and out to Mrs Macquarie’s Chair in the Botanic Gardens. Such a great run – you get all the inner city dirt (including people coming out of clubs at 10am…ughhh), and the beautiful arches of the trees in Hyde Park, and then the gorgeous Botanic Gardens (including a really great view of the Opera House and bridge). It’s a beautiful place to live. The weather was beautiful and sunny (although the wind was freezing before we got warm), and we chatted the whole way. It went quick and I felt really good – 7.5km, so I was pretty happy with that. I realised the next day that I don’t actually think I’ve run that far since December 2009, just after the marathon and before I got pregnant with Bunny.

This week so far involves cross training on Monday (fitness and strength) and a rest day today. I walked a lot with Bunny today as she wouldn’t sleep in her cot – possibly a combo of lingering cold and teething – so there were two pram walks, one successful involving sleep, and one not successful involving screaming. But it was probably good for stretching my legs.

Tomorrow morning the plan is to do a warm-up of around 3kms down at Rushcutters and then six reps of 400m hills, which I’ll probably do in Elizabeth Bay somewhere. Thursday will be an easy pace run of around 6km, then Friday morning we fly to Melbourne, so I’ll either do a run that afternoon or have it as a rest day. Then try to find a time over the weekend to do a long run that won’t disrupt spending time with our hosts and catching up with friends.

Hope everyone is going really well…here’s a photo taken in late June of Bunny with my cousin’s little ones, Sebastien and Lucille. Josie just LOVED them, as you can see. Awww.

 

Leave a Reply

