Wheaterville

Dog walking really is a full time job.

JFDI. July 23, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — wheaters @ 1:10 pm

This week in Sydney it has been wet, wet, wet. The Wheater ladies are a little bit cabin-feverish, and the dog certainly is. However this didn’t stop me getting out for a run this morning, dog in tow. Ped and I ran down Oxford Street, through the glorious cathedral of trees in Hyde Park, to the Botanic Gardens and then back home through Darlinghurst. Just over 6kms, not to tire the legs out for a long run tomorrow morning.

In Melbourne I managed to get out both mornings, which I was really happy with. I forgot my running watch so I wasn’t sure how far I went, but I ran for 40 minutes each day. Our friends Sarah and Simon live in Brighton, about two streets back from the foreshore, so I took great delight in running along the beach each day. Brighton is such a beautiful suburb – huge houses compared to what I’m used to in Paddington, lovely art deco apartment blocks and lots of people out on bikes. It was fuh-reeeeezing when I set out each day, it made Sydney feel kind of warm when we got back. However running in the cold is quite nice, and it doesn’t take long to warm up. I did wish I’d brought my running gloves though.

This week I got out to two cross-training sessions which involved boxing at one and a mix of body weight resistance stuff at the other. I also did a short hills run one morning (and I do mean short). But I figure it’s better than nothing. Nutrition has been pretty appalling though, somehow chocolate brownies made their way into my life every day except for Friday. What the hell? I was to blame for Monday and Tuesday, but the rest of it wasn’t my fault. Sure, I didn’t have to eat them, but that would have been rude. And the weather has been very red winey, and I’ve been disorganised for dinners which resulted in one night of takeaway and another night of pasta (which was actually totally delish but not exactly light on), and I had a girl’s night out with Ash too. So yeah…the idea of getting light on my feet to help with the running hasn’t exactly been top of mind this week.

Pelvic floor is still weak. I can tell when I’m running that it isn’t as strong as it should be. Let’s all just hope that I can distract it long enough to get through the race, and then pull back a bit on the distance and keep training it.

The minky is awake so better go say hi…

lots of love everyone!

xx

 

Leave a Reply

